Home Events Republic Day of India

Republic Day of India


Since 1950, Republic Day in India is celebrated on 26 January. On this day, flag hoisting ceremonies and parades by armed forces are held at Rajpath, New Delhi. Let us have a look at the interesting facts about the Republic Day parade.


It is celebrated on 26 January every year and this year India will celebrate its 73rd Republic Day. It falls on Wednesday. There is a change in the timing of the Republic Day parade on 26 January 2022. As per officials, the parade would start at 10:30 AM instead of 10 AM due to the forecast of fog in Delhi on the day of the parade.


On this day President of India addresses the nation. It also shows the huge image of the country’s rich cultural heritage and military prowess. On 26 January, 1950, the Constitution of India was implemented in the country that is why we celebrate 26 January as Republic Day every year.


Every Indian feels pride while seeing the National Flag unfurling on Republic Day. Do you know every year, around 2 Lacs people come to watch the parade of 26th January? But like last year, this year also on the Republic Day parade, India will not have a chief guest due to the global situation arising out of the COVID-19 pandemic. Approximately 5000 to 8000 people will be allowed to attend the Republic Day parade on 26 January 2022.


In order to ensure the proper conduct of the parade, thousands of soldiers and several other people are actively involved in the process. The formal responsibility to organise the parade lies in the Defence Ministry which is assisted by different organisations.


As we know due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event of the Republic Day will be pared down in terms of the number of spectators, the size of marching contingents, and other side attractions. In the Republic Day parade on 26 January 2022, 12 states and Union territories and nine ministries and departments have been selected to showcase their tableaux. These include Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand.


~ Happy Republic Day


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here